How can we Help?

Call Recording

Follow

Please note that while Talkdesk offers the option for you to record calls, if you choose to use this service, then you must comply with all state and federal laws, regulations and rules prior to recording any telephone calls. Check with your legal department or lawyer to make sure you are compliant. Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information on this.

Administrators can configure Talkdesk to record Inbound Calls only, Outbound calls only, both or none.

Follow the guidelines below to configure your call recording settings and the permission to access call recordings.

 

Configuring Call Recording Settings

To configure your account settings related to the recording of calls, please follow these steps: 

image-0__1_.png

  • Log in to your Talkdesk account as an Administrator.
  • Select the Admin section [1].
  • Click the Preferences tab [2].
  • Scroll down to the “Call Settings” section [3].
  • Select the desired option next to Inbound Call Recording Enabled [4].
  • Select the desired option next to Outbound Call Recording Enabled [5].
  • Click Save [6].

Note:  When call recording is enabled, calls continue to be recorded even after the call is blind/warm transferred.

 

These account-wide settings can be overwritten for specific phone numbers.

You can also decide if you wish to allow agents to be able to manually pause and resume call recordings directly from the Talkdesk interface and if you wish Talkdesk to automatically delete all call recordings after a predetermined amount of time.

 

Permission to Access Call Recordings

Once call recordings are enabled, keep in mind that by default all roles are able to listen to all call recordings in the Calls and Reporting sections. If you wish to edit a role’s permission to listen to call recordings, please follow these instructions: 

image-1__2_.png

  • Log in to your Talkdesk account as an Administrator.
  • Select the Admin section [1].
  • Click on Roles [2].
  • Click on the "Pencil" icon [3] in the permissions column next to the role you would like to change.

 

image-2.png

  • In the dialog, make sure that the checkbox next to Calls is selected [4]. If left unticked, the users with this role will not see the Calls section.
  • Under “View”, leave the checkbox ticked to allow the role to listen to call recordings [5].
  • In the “Scope” drop-down [6], define the level of access to the call recordings:
    • Select All if you want the role to have access to all call recordings in the account.
    • Alternatively, select Ring Group or Agent to allow access to only the recordings of the calls handled by the role’s ring groups or only the recordings of the calls handled by the agent, respectively. The play button is displayed for all calls with an available call recording but only if the user has permission to access them.
  • Click Save to apply these settings [7].

The permissions set here will be reflected not only on the Calls section, but also on Explore, namely on the Calls Dashboard and the Calls Report. In other words, this means that the users with access to this dashboard and/or report will be able to play call recordings according to the permissions set for the Calls section.

 

Retention of Call Recordings

By default, call recordings are deleted after 6 months. To learn how to configure the retention policy of your call recordings, please check the article Call and Voicemail Recording Retention Policy.

 

 

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk