As Administrators, you can carry out a series of operations on custom fields. As a result, cases, especially those where these custom fields were applied, may be impacted in different ways.
Creating a Custom Field
If there is only one case form available (namely, the default case form), a newly-created custom field will be automatically added to the “Fields” section of the default case form. This means that the field is immediately displayed on the case processing page regardless of the case status. For cases in a status other than “Resolved” and “Closed”, Agents can specify the value of the new field on the case processing page directly. Otherwise, the field is unavailable.
If there are multiple available case forms, a newly-created custom field will not be automatically applied to any existing case.
Updating a Drop-down Field
Updating a drop-down field includes two scenarios:
- Removing a field value.
- Changing an existing field value to a new one.
If a drop-down field is unspecified in a case, updating the field does not affect the case in any way.
If a drop-down field is specified with a value in a case:
- Removing the field value will leave the field unspecified on the case processing page.
- Changing the existing field value to a new one will update the value to the new value accordingly on the case processing page.
- The above-mentioned rules also apply to “Type” and “About”, two standard drop-down fields where you can add and edit field values.
- The above-mentioned rules are basically the same for dependent fields, a special type of drop-down fields. As a dependent field can contain up to three levels of options, any update to each level only applies to that level itself. For example, if you delete a value option at the second level, which automatically deletes all its corresponding values at the third level, the field will only be specified with the value at the first level on the case processing page.
Deactivating and Reactivating a Custom Field
After a custom field in use is deactivated, it disappears from all case forms that contain the field. Therefore, it is not displayed on the case processing page, regardless of the case status. However, once it is reactivated, the field will be available again in the original case forms and on the case processing page with the same value specified before.
Note: You cannot deactivate standard fields.
Deleting a Custom Field
To delete a custom field, you need to deactivate it first. After a custom field is deleted, it is permanently removed from Talkdesk Cases. This means that you are not able to recover the field or any data stored in the field for all cases where the field was applied.
Note: You cannot delete standard fields.