Talkdesk Cases™ allows Agents to delete cases that are no longer needed, such as untraceable requests and prank calls. They can also restore deleted cases, as long as they are not removed permanently.
Deleting and restoring a case consists of the following three tasks:
- Deleting a case: Moves a case to the Trash view.
- Restoring a case: Moves a case in the Trash view back to its original view.
- Permanently deleting a case: Removes a case from the Trash view and Talkdesk Cases permanently.
As one of the built-in case views in Talkdesk Cases, the Trash view is accessible to Agents by default.
Deleted cases are automatically moved to the Trash view and remain there until they are restored or permanently deleted. There is no time limit for how long deleted cases can stay in Trash.
In Trash, Agents can view and restore deleted cases, as well as permanently remove them regardless of whether they were deleted by these Agents or not. Agents cannot directly open a case (namely, view the case processing page) in Trash.
For more information about views, see Using and Managing Case Views.
Understanding Deleting and Restoring Rules
Agents need to know the following rules for deleting and restoring rules.
Deleting a Case
- Go to a case view and click a case that you want to delete.
- On the case processing page, click Delete  on the action bar.
- In the dialog that appears, click Delete . If this case has any subcase, you will be prompted to confirm the deletion of the subcase.
- The case and all its subcases will be moved to Trash.
Alternatively, you can tick the checkboxes  of multiple cases in a case view, click Delete  on the action bar, and select Delete  in the pop-up dialog to delete cases in bulk.
Restoring a Case
- Go to the Trash  view and click a case that you want to restore .
- In the dialog that appears, click Restore and view .
- You will be redirected to the case processing page immediately after the case is restored. If this is a subcase, its root case will also be restored.
Alternatively, you can tick the checkboxes  of multiple cases in the Trash view, and click Restore  on the action bar to restore deleted cases in bulk.
Permanently Deleting a Case
- Go to the Trash  view and select the checkboxes of one or multiple deleted cases .
- On the action bar, click Delete permanently .
- In the dialog that appears, click Delete permanently . If this case has any subcase, you will be prompted to confirm the deletion of the subcase.
Note: Exercise caution when you permanently delete a case, since the operation is irreversible.