When two contacts are merged in Desk, one of them is deleted and the other remains active. If the two contacts present before the merge were both synced to Talkdesk, however, both corresponding Talkdesk contacts will continue to exist.
In order to ensure that Desk cases created via automation are only logged to still-present contacts, if Talkdesk tries to create a case associated with a contact that has since been deleted, we will automatically check to see if the contact was merged with a different Desk contact. If so, we will then create the case and associate it with the still-present contact in Desk.
This means that for Talkdesk customers using Desk, in cases where agents receive a call and see multiple similar or identical contacts associated with the phone number, they can choose any of the contacts, and the case will log to the correct one.